Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,051
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
2 members (Rainman, Bobbss), 458 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
DC70 Offline OP
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
D
My loader is a New Holland Lx985. It is 75 H.P. and weighs around 9,000 lbs. with the solid foam fill tires. I have over 4000 hrs experience on a skid steer loader (most people call skid steer loaders a Bobcat).

I have been working on my pond for 4 years now. I hired a contractor to clear the site in fall 2004. It was really thick, I couldn't even ride a ATV thru it. He spent 36 hours on a track hoe taking out trees and piling up the logs and brush. I spent many weekends in 2005 cutting firewood and burning brush. I didn't get much time in 2006 as I was busy with my concrete business. Although I did manage to get my topsoil cut and moved out of the pond site.
In this picture you can see my loader with an 8 ft bucket pushing topsoil.

The previous land owner had a road thru the middle of what would become my pond. It was 8-9 ft high, 10 ft wide, and 120 ft long. My plan was to move this dirt to fill back in the road where it was cut from, shape the site so it wouldn't hold water, then hire a contractor to build the dam.
This is a side view of the old road

Spring of 2007, I moved the dirt from the old road back to where it came from.

Summer 2007 I had 2 contractors out to look at my site, but neither one ever called me back with a price. Then I decided to try it myself. July 8, 2007 I cut my keyway and started pushing dirt.