Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,789
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
11 members (FireIsHot, Theeck, Rick O, catscratch, canyoncreek, Augie, Bigtrh24, Shorthose, Theo Gallus, esshup, JasonInOhio), 875 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#10561 01/15/04 12:25 AM
C
CLB Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hello everyone, I'm new at this message board stuff so please bear with me. I'd first like to say that I've been a long time observer of this site and a six month subscriber to the magagzine which I highly recommend to those without subscriptions.

My family has a pond we use to irrigate crops with that we redug 2 years ago and I was planning on stocking it this spring. The basics of the pond are: 1.5 acres: sand, rock and concrete slab banks: 16 ft. deepest part: 7ft. average depth: 70% of bottom covered with chara: hard water?: 74 degrees highest water temp taken:
3 pine trees in for cover and alot of pallets in 4 ft of water: clear water.

The problem is deciding what kind of fish to put in it. There are four people in my family and each one of us likes fishing for a different species. To me the size of the fish is really not as immportatnt as not knowing what I'm going to catch. I've already got fathead minnows, golden shiners, mosquito fish and crawdads established. I also put 10 grass carp in last summer. I was wondering if someone could expand on the high maintenance of a high divesity pond.
Thanks

#10562 01/15/04 09:04 AM
D
Lunker
Lunker
D
Corey, What are the 4 species that you are talking about?

#10563 01/15/04 09:14 AM
S
S