Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,989
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,537
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
3 members (Sunil, phinfan, teehjaeh57), 1,142 guests, and 362 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
OP Offline
D
I've been messing around with small ponds for over 30 years and thought I would offer my unsolicited opinion and how I manage these bream.
Where I live any sunfish is called a Bream.

I have had remarkable success putting mature red ears into small ponds (under 2 acres) that only contained bluegill and bass. 3 years after stocking the big redears I began to catch some redear/blugill hybrids. These are realy beatiful fish and I've caught several that go over the 1 lb mark. The only drawback is the hybrids have become dominate and the bluegill population has fallen off. Now each year I add some mature bluegills to the mix to keep the bass happy.

As for greensunfish we built a 1/2 acre pond on a running creek. After it filled it was full of greenfish that came from the creek. I was going to do the standard bass/ bluegill stocking but didn't really want those greenfish eating my expensive minnows. Solution was to stock 75 channel cats. The catfish didn't realy clean out the greenfish but did help keep them in check. Next step was to move 15 2lb bass from our other pond. Now this was the ticket cause the bass grew like crazy and the greenfish population really began to go down. I was afraid the bass were going to run out of food so I began moving some bluegills in. Now 4 years after the pond was finished The catfish are about 5 lbs. The bass are around 4 lbs and I catch very few small bass.