Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,011
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
12 members (JoshMI, FishinRod, Drago, Jason D, Sunil, Boondoggle, highflyer, Shorthose, anthropic, canyoncreek, Dave Davidson1, esshup), 1,175 guests, and 195 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#41137 08/29/06 12:01 AM
N
OP Offline
N
Hello. I am new to all this but this seems like the site where I can get some help.

We are about make an offer on a property in Ulster County (NY State). When the real estate agent saw the property in the spring, there was about a 1 acre pond on it. He showed us the property last week and it shrunk to a tiny pond (or maybe a really large puddle). We want to make an offer on this property but I need to first understand that the pond can be restored.

The property sits at the base of a mountain but there doesn't look like there is any run-off from the mtn into the pond. The area where the pond was is very springy and soft (maybe it's wet underneath) and covered with plants. We want to restore this pond and haven't got clue how to go about it. My husband thinks we should have a well dug (a well has to be dug elsewhere on the property anyway so we can build a house.

My question: can you recommend any pond experts in the NY state area? My husband thinks by having a well dug, it will restore the pond but I'm concerned with the evaporation that occurred over the last few months.

Many thanks for any help, P.S. Great magazine - we plan on subscribing.

#41138 08/29/06 06:09 AM
D
Lunker
Online Content
Lunker
D