Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BoomerTC35D, cjschuhmann, Teroni, EGS, Ben Davis
18,530 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,014
Posts558,522
Members18,531
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,606
ewest 21,513
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,159
Who's Online Now
11 members (SSJSayajin, JoshMI, Augie, anthropic, Bennettrand, Kendal, LANGSTER, Sunil, FishinRod, canyoncreek, Theo Gallus), 1,032 guests, and 247 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
L
LakeNew Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hello all, found this site using google and have loved looking at pics, reading and learning. Great stuff, thank you.

I am new to ponds/lakes and know next to nothing. Ours is newly built and right after we finished it, the recent St Louis area flooding record rains hit, it filled (about 6" from spillway) in 2.5 days. I was home, it was a sight to see it fill so fast, could almost watch the water go up like a bathtub.

Since it filled as of 12/28/15 and now on 01/01/15 it is down 7-8" as marked by a tree I marked to watch water height. So, it's loosing between 1.5"-2" per day. The last pic is from last Saturday (one week ago) as the rain was starting.

I am wondering it that's normal water loss? Thanks for any advice.

Attached Images
image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
J
J
Mine did the same thing when it first filled about six weeks ago, and the up and down is continuing. I am hoping it is all initial absorption into the surrounding soil to the saturation point. Hopefully yours is that absorption and not a leak.

R
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
R
Welcome to the forum, LakeNew!!!