Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,991
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,537
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
6 members (gautprod, Fishingadventure, bmicek, FishinRod, Theo Gallus, nvcdl), 1,158 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
Darrin Offline OP
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
D
Love my pond, but I'm a newbie....Recently purchased a home that came with a .25 acre pond that is fairly shallow. Peanut shaped about 8 ft in the deepest section. It is only 2 years old and this spring the algae is really bad. No fish plans but would like it to look nice and the kids use it for a little swimming. Last summer it dried up to 1/3 it's original size by the end of August. So far this spring I put in a product call Pond-Aid by DW Davies. It looks like it's working but I don't think it's going to cure my algae problem. I don't want to spend a lot of money, but was thinking about running some power about 10 feet from the pond and plugging in a floating fountain/aerator or setting up a simple waterfall for some water movement.

My questions:

1) Since I have a tight budget this year, would you recommend a fountain or waterfall or something else? Will this help enough with the algae?

2) What can I do about the water evaperation? Got some advice about a sand point...

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

K
K