Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
beauphus, Lina, blueyss, KiwiGuy, JKK
18,516 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,991
Posts558,290
Members18,517
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,576
ewest 21,508
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,154
Who's Online Now
10 members (Augie, FishinRod, Fishingadventure, ewest, JoshMI, RAH, Don Kennedy, rkleman, Sunil, BarkyDoos), 1,049 guests, and 321 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
T
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
T
I am studying the pros and cons of installing a wind-powered aerator for my 1/2 acre pond. The pond is far from a source of electricity so I am stuck with wind power. Anyway, I found a website of a windmill dealer and he says:

"CAUTION: This type of aeration system is only recommended in locations where you have CONSTANT wind. This system can induce a fish kill if not operated properly! Our biologists advise you to operate this system only during the winter months, unless you have a CONSTANT 5 mph or greater wind speed."

I'm sure there are times here in southern Indiana when the air is calm. I can install a windmill on a hill top away from trees so the chance of a breeze is greater. But lots of evenings in the summer and fall will be calm. Is this guy's claim legitimate? Or is a windmill for my location a waste of money?

B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
B
I read that information also when it can out in their new catalog. That information comes from Jones Fish Farm, Cincinnati OH. I do not think they are completely correct in this statement. I am a long time dealer of the same brand of windmills they sell. There are numerous details to fully explain their dramatic comment.