Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BoomerTC35D, cjschuhmann, Teroni, EGS, Ben Davis
18,530 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics41,013
Posts558,511
Members18,530
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,605
ewest 21,512
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,159
Who's Online Now
8 members (Brian from Texas, catscratch, Jake D., Boondoggle, canyoncreek, Bill Cody, Fishingadventure, Bobbss), 1,197 guests, and 433 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
OP Offline
H
Hello,

I am new to PB and am really thankful I have found this forum -- because I need some advice!

Some background:
I bought a farm with a 5 1/2 ac pond last spring. It is a 25 year old pond fed by runoff from two crop fields that are separated from the pond by about 250'grass and shrub buffer zone. Looks to be about 15' deep through most of the center. Usually a green/brown with a couple feet of visibility. VERY weedy on the bottom (slimy filamentous algae) but no surface vegetation at all. Grass carp were put in about 5-7 years ago and I did find a huge dead carp in the runoff this spring. Very silty bottom that stinks when you stir it up. Sometimes green algae floating on top in fine layer in low wind. My goal for the pond is managing for trophy LMB.

I was told there are some big LMB (6-8lb range) and was even shown some mounts by a neighbor of very large bass taken in the late 90's.