Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,993
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,538
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
1 members (highflyer), 927 guests, and 187 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#341698 07/01/13 02:03 PM
C
OP Offline
C
Hey guys this is my first time posting here but I have been trying to obtain some of the great information that is posted here about ponds. The reason I am here is because hopefully in the next month I will begin digging a pond. To start off I'd like to say what I have planned now and hopefully y'all would agree or point me in the right direction. I live in south central Louisiana and I want to dig a 100x200 pond. As of now Im thinking of digging it so that the front of the pond is an area 100x30 and 5' deep then dropping down to 10' deep then on the back section of the pond coming back up to 5' deep for the same 100x30 area. On the 5 foot deep sections I would like to put pea gravel for spawning purposes. I contacted Dunns fish farm to see what I should stock it with and this is what they told me:50 Bass,50 Black Crappie,150 Coppernose Bluegill,100 Hybrid Bluegill,
100 Redear Bream, and 5 Pounds of fathead Minnows. I have also been research fish structures to put into the pond. Tell me what y'all think and any help is greatly appreciated.

M
M
I would skip the black crappies, they can quickly overpopulate in a pond setting.

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
2nd that on the crappie, kinda surprised they recommended those..

I believe in catch and release. I catch then release to the grease..

BG. CSBG. LMB. HSB. RES.

[Linked Image from i90.photobucket.com]
Online Happy