Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,965
Posts558,025
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
11 members (Boondoggle, phinfan, Sunil, canyoncreek, Jason D, jludwig, Fishingadventure, FishinRod, Pat Williamson, STG, catscratch), 1,285 guests, and 196 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
goober Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hey there, hoping I can get a few answers here. I'm new to ponds, but looking to get ours running asap! we own a blueberry, cherry, and raspberry farm in western n.c. (new farm too!) and just had a pond put in for irrigation and for raising fish for us to eat.

The pond is fairly small by some standards, it's 12 feet deep on the deep end, about 8 feet on the shallow end. About 80x20 dimensions. We created a few "shelves" for grasses to grow so there will be spawning areas. It's fed by freshwater springs that we drink out of, so it's pristine as far as water quality. I want the water quality to be very nutrient rich so that the pond water will double as irrigation and fertilization on the farm.

The fish that I want in our pond are yellow perch and channel cats. I have a friend who stocks steelhead rainbows who said he would give me some of those as well. I do want to overpopulate the pond slightly to give the water more nutrients for the plants, due to the small size I don't mind feeding quite a bit as this will be comparable to the cost of fertilizer for the orchards.

Now that we have that out of the way... any suggestions, comments, or curses? I am fairly certain that I do not want bass in the pond, I don't really enjoy eating bass...

C
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame