Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,005
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
3 members (teehjaeh57, anthropic, Snipe), 947 guests, and 206 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#272371 10/24/11 03:16 PM
B
buzzman Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Anyone have experience with fire ants getting in their fish feeder? Any ideas how to keep them out?

buzzman #272379 10/24/11 04:03 PM
#
#
Originally Posted By: buzzman
Anyone have experience with fire ants getting in their fish feeder? Any ideas how to keep them out?

Buzzman

I am a Certified Pesticide Operator in Florida. I also do some Aquatic Weed Control. I am here to learn more about Pond management.

Fire Ants are very easy to control if you know how. First you must understand the how various pesticide work and effect collateral damage to you pond and fish. The popular Pyrethroid pesticides will kill your fish if the run off gets into your pond. Therefore you must use liquid Boric acid Baits like Terro that you can buy in the Super Market. Bait attract the Fire Ants and they take the Boric acid back to the nest were it finally control the total population. This can take up to 6 weeks but you should start seeing a decline in 2 to 3 weeks. The big trick with Terro liquid Ants baits is to water it down at least 2 water to 1 Terro. Full strength Terro works too fast and doesn't return to the main colony like the watered down solution.