Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER
18,503 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,998
Members18,504
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,539
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
4 members (Bigtrh24, FishinRod, Boondoggle, Fishingadventure), 1,278 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#269623 09/06/11 07:16 PM
P
Lunker
OP Offline
Lunker
P
I have been building a pond in Michigan for the last 3 years on 20 acres I bought. The county has been buying sand and digging me a pond in exchange for the sand. Each year they have been taking sand and I make it bigger. They are in the last phase of it and the pond will be about 4 acres and 15 feet deep in some spots and 8 feet for a big portion of it. For the last 3 years I have been catching fish off my dock at my cottage right down the road and putting them in the pond. I just put the fish in by hand and not any water from the lake. I have probably put in 20 Rock Bass, 10 large mouth, 10 small mouth bass (all bass have been small), 20 small perch (4 inch), 1 catfish, 500 small BG, 300 Medium BG and 100 Large BG. I have not added any structure to the pond yet and am waiting until it is all done. Only cover has been a few weeds and some cattails. There are many small fish in the pond so I know they have been breeding. I have caught a few perch this year and they are 6-7 inch. I see many lathe BG in the pond too. The pond has about 8 small turtles in it as well. The pond will be done in about month and should I add anything to the pond before winter (structure) or buy more fish or just wait until spring? The entire pond has about a 30 degree slope. I do not want to add structure in all the pond as the kids swim in it and ride jetskis. I do w