Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,993
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,538
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
5 members (Freunb02, anthropic, Fishingadventure, bmicek, KenHorton), 1,180 guests, and 214 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#263975 07/06/11 06:52 PM
B
bobslp Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hi, newbie here although I have had my pond for 20yr and it is about 40 yr old.
My new neighbors have a horse farm and I get runoff so the nutrient balance is changing.
I also have some trees down in the pond and that helps add crud to it.
Now about 4 yrs ago, I had a major duckweed infestation and it was easily fixed with fluridone. I have had some duckweek in the pond ever since but it has not become invasive.
Now to this year. Duckweed is back but not covering the pond. I have fluridone on the way and probably <a quart will help this.
The biggest problem is a brown algae bloom that seemed to appear almost overnight and covers the pond. It seems to be a very fine algae and appears to have some filaments coming from parts of it. In the morning, it seems to be bubbling so I assume it may be putting out some oxygen. I sprayed some of it yesterday with cutrine and some captan. Does anyone know what kind of algae this is and the best way to control it?
I am also looking at aeration systems. What do you folks think about the Thomas systems that are sold on ebay?
The pond appears to be a muck bottom from what I read. (odoriferous black mud.
This pond has always dropped a lot in the summer but last year's drought got it lower than I have ever seen it.
Any input and/or suggestions?
I appreciate you guys reading this.