Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Mcarver, araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi
18,502 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,963
Posts557,994
Members18,503
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,539
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
4 members (gehajake, jmartin, Boondoggle, FireIsHot), 1,272 guests, and 213 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
J
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
J
We've been our new house for over 6 months and at this point I'm pretty sure that I have a LMB over population issue.

The BG population seems really healthy and they are feeding on food pellets very well. I have been feeding them for about 2 months and I believe it is helping create forage for the bass as I actually just caught my first bass over 12 inches (not much over but better).

Reading on this board it seems the suggestion is to start culling bass at a rate of 50lbs or so per acre. The unfortunate thing for me is that I would not eat a fish out of this pond without knowing what the bacteria levels are so I would have to figure out a way to dispose of 100+ LMB in order to cull. It's a neighborhood pond with a good bit of run off.

I was wondering if I added CC to the pond if they would help reduce the LMB population? I have only seen one large catfish show up during feeding. I suspect he was released into the water by someone years ago and was not part of the original stocking.

In theory I could see this working IF the CC fed on the small LMB but I could also see their presence causing more stress on what appears to be an already stressed forage base.

Was hoping you guys could provide some insight for me.

Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Hall of Fame
Lunker