Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
BamaBass9, Sryously, PapaCarl, Mcarver, araudy
18,505 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,964
Posts558,005
Members18,506
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,541
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,151
Who's Online Now
3 members (teehjaeh57, anthropic, Snipe), 947 guests, and 206 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#216984 05/14/10 08:47 AM
B
BonZoso Offline OP
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
B
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to pond ownership and was just informed that I have about 2X the number of LMB in my pond. I'm going to start removing about 50 of them ( they hit a barbless fly like no getout) and store them until I can find a home for them. I'm thinking about a swimming pool with an aerator. Can anyone advise me with particulars (size of pool, pump and feeding) and how long I can keep this up. I hate the thought of just killing them. They are about 5-6" (stocked last spring at 2". Thanks for any help.

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker
Depending on how many you put in, for how long, and the size of the pool you could run into ammonia toxicity problems even if you are aerating.

Is the pool close enough to the pond where you can run in pond water and overflow it back to the pond?

I'm sure you know chlorine is a big no no. Highly lethal to fish.

If pigs could fly bacon would be harder to come by and there would be a lot of damaged trees.

J
JKB Offline
Hall of Fame 2015
Lunker
Hall of Fame 2015
Lunker
J
Originally Posted By: BonZoso
Hi all,