Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,899
Posts557,053
Members18,451
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,407
ewest 21,474
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,110
Who's Online Now
11 members (Layne, Shorthose, DenaTroyer, jludwig, Theo Gallus, jpsdad, Tinylake, catscratch, Brandon Larson, Dave Davidson1, Blestfarmpond), 631 guests, and 181 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Q
OP Offline
Q
The dirt moving equipment came to my house yesterday. WOOOHOOOO!!

I have long planned/wished for a pond in western KY, and now I'm a little nervous, and second-guessing my plan.

Pond will be around .75-1.0 acres in western KY. I am an amateur retriever trainer, so I plan to have multiple points, coves, chutes and a small island for training advanced concepts. Average depth 5'. It will catch runoff, and also have water source from my geothermal heating/cooling unit with consideration for aeration discussed in old threads.

I would like this pond to double as a place to teach my young son how to catch bream on a cane pole, with the immediate reward of eating what he catches. So I'm thinking of Coppernose BC, RES for sure. I don't really give a rip about LMB, but SMB might be fun, but I realize they may not be sustainable in a small pond. I will put CC in the pond if I need them, but don't really care too much about them.

So here come the questions:
How do I prepare the pond prior to stocking?
Can I get started with it this Fall?
Any other species I should consider?
Ratios of species stocked?
Forage?
Lastly, this pond is in the bottoms near waterfowling. What can I do to make this pond attractive to ducks, geese that would not negatively affect my other goals? Mostly mallards, wood ducks, and a few honkers.