Pond Boss
Posted By: look@her_bass Where do I get started? - 03/08/15 03:33 PM
I am new to pond management, where do I start for water chemistry so I can fertilize?
Posted By: Bill D. Re: Where do I get started? - 03/08/15 03:45 PM
Welcome to PBF!

You might find this thread helpful

http://forums.pondboss.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=399991
Posted By: TGW1 Re: Where do I get started? - 03/08/15 04:52 PM
I would hold off fertilizing till u research it out some more. If u have vegetation in the water, from my understanding u will be fertilizing plant growth. I am no expert on pond fertilization but like u I am learning.
Tracy
Posted By: Bill Cody Re: Where do I get started? - 03/08/15 09:05 PM
To successfully fertilize you should know the alkalinity concentration of your pond. There is a minimum alkalinity value for fertilization to have any hope of succeeding. It is much more than dumping fertilizer into the water. Improper fertilization can turn your pond into a long term head ache of a weedy mess because the added nutrients become part of the continual nutrient budget of the life of the pond. I will provide below a link to fertilization topics and discussion.

IMO you should do good homework. Learn what it takes to get a good bloom and a list of things that hinder a bloom. Learn the pros and cons of fertilizing. Sometimes it is better to spend the money on feeding fish food pellets to produce as good or even better overall results of more and bigger fish. Sometimes if the water quality is "right" feeding pellets to the fish produces an acceptable bloom. Win, win. The more you understand the fertilization and pellet feeding topics the better chance of not wasting your money. Some really serious pond owners fertilize and feed pellets for premium benefits. Proper fertilization requires regular monitoring of bloom density (water clarity) and knowing when to add and then when to stop adding nutrients (fertilizer).