Pond Boss
Posted By: Ronald Williams Where Are My Catfish??? - 08/16/19 06:59 PM
Good afternoon,

I just found this site today and it is awesome! More info than I can wrap my head around.

I have a one acre and quite deep (23ft in some spots) pond that I have been working on to fix a bass overpopulation problem for the last 5 years. Two years ago (2017) I decided to add 100 6-8" catfish to the pond for fishing pleasure. In 2018 I caught one catfish about 14", but since then I have not as much as had a bite from a catfish. I'm starting to wonder what happened to them all. The bass are coming along nicely but I am worried about my catfish investment. Should I start feeding a floating fish food to confirm their existence, or could that cause problems? Anybody have some other suggestions for confirming my whiskered friends are in there still? Thanks in advance from the newbie.
Posted By: RStringer Re: Where Are My Catfish??? - 08/16/19 07:07 PM
Welcome - My answer would be yes try feeding them. I got my feed from farm store. What I did was feed the same time every day. Shake a coffee can with the feed in it. Mine will start stirring when they hear the can rattle. Throw it in 1 place only to start with. They will get use to it within a few days if they are in there. Know I'm no expert that's just my opinion and what worked for me. Welcome again. And yes lots of info and very helpful people on here
Posted By: Quarter Acre Re: Where Are My Catfish??? - 08/16/19 07:30 PM
Catfish may take to feeding faster than my HBG did which took a couple weeks. So, don't be surprised if it takes them a while to show up. I would suggest adding some sinking feed to the mix. I think it would aid in getting them to come to the dinner bell a bit sooner, but not required.