Pond Boss
Posted By: Ndfishingfool Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 01:46 AM
My grandfather stocked a pretty decent sized pond on our ranch with yellow perch many years ago ( he estimates 25 plus). I tried ice fishing it this winter and found that the fish have become stunted (all 3-6 inches). The lake is around 80 acres and has depth up to 25 feet. And has hundreds of dead trees scattered throughout. I would like to establish a crappie and walleye population but am unsure how to do so with the excess of perch. PLEASE HELP!!
Posted By: Bill D. Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 01:58 AM
Welcome to PBF!

First thing I would do is add SMB and lots of WE and maybe NP, but I'm not a pro. They will be along with opinions/suggestions. They know what they are talking about and will not steer you wrong!

Bill D.
Posted By: Ndfishingfool Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 02:17 AM
What do you mean by WE and NP? I apologizf I -
Am new to this.
Posted By: mnfish Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 02:28 AM
80 acres is a big BOW! I would want to know where I was before deciding on which direction to go. IMHO,Without a lot more information first, stocking recommendations would be blind guesses at best. Has the lake ever been sampled with traps or shocked? Have you caught or seen other species of fish in the BOW?
Posted By: mnfish Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 02:28 AM
WE- walleye
NP-northern pike
Posted By: Bill D. Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 02:29 AM
Sorry man,

Here is a link to the acronyms used on PBF.

http://forums.pondboss.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=92442

WE are walleye and NP are northern pike.
Posted By: Bob-O Re: Too many yellow perch - 01/27/15 02:31 AM
Hello, that is a BIG pond !!! I probably know less than Bill D but will babble at ya anyhow. The big brains that actually make sense should surely jump in soon.