Pond Boss
Posted By: ozarker stocking First step - 02/24/15 03:53 AM
If a person wanted to stock 10 LBS. fathead minnows 500 BG and I wanted Red ear
also whats the number recommended
Posted By: anthropic Re: stocking First step - 02/24/15 04:10 AM
Hey, ozarker. I'm no expert, but from what I've read and heard from those who are, you might want to stock about 100 RE with your 500 BG. Most people go for 80 to 90 percent BG (CNBG down in southern climes) and 20 to 10 percent RE. RE are good for controlling snails that carry parasites, so are helpful in keeping the other fish healthy.
Posted By: Pat Williamson Re: stocking First step - 02/24/15 04:11 AM
How large is your pond? In my pond it was recommended to stock about 20%RES to CNBG if you are stocking 500 BG prob go with 100 RES

Pat W
Posted By: CJBS2003 Re: stocking First step - 02/24/15 10:00 AM
What are the goals for your pond? Will you pellet feed, aerate? Then you can get an accurate answer...
Posted By: esshup Re: stocking First step - 02/24/15 03:18 PM
^^^^^^^^ What he said.

10%-20% RES is about right in generalities.
Posted By: ozarker Re: stocking First step - 02/27/15 03:06 AM
My pond is 3 acres we had a four inch rain Oct. 2014 and it is still holding water very well water surface may be 1 acer I've almost 60 acres runoff i will aerate and pellet feed I want RE in my pond Don't plan on stocking last of April or May What's wrong with stocking CNBG 500 and RE 500 10 lb. fatheads in a year then bass and catfish I've herd RE are a lout of fun they don't reproduce compared to BG
Posted By: anthropic Re: stocking First step - 02/27/15 04:06 AM
Originally Posted By: ozarker