Pond Boss
Posted By: interplexr Stocking before full pool reached - 09/28/14 01:26 PM
I finished building a 1.5 acre pond about a month ago. It's steadily filling and has 4-5 feet of water covering at least 0.75 acres so far. It has another 5 feet to fill. I am planning on stocking bluegill, shellcracker, and largemouth. I will be getting some flatheads, shellcracker, and bluegill this week. I won't stick the bass till next spring. I'm wondering if I should stock more than 200 total fish since the pond isn't full. The water has turned a nice deep green and there are plenty of bugs but I was worried about food availability. Should I stick with my plan or add 500 or 750 total? I was going to stock 5 pounds of flatheads as well. What are your thoughts?
Posted By: snrub Re: Stocking before full pool reached - 09/28/14 05:00 PM
I'm not an expert, but I would stock the full amount. Think about how small the initial fish are. Unless you think there is some reason the pond will be unusually slow to fill, the BOW should grow with the fish.

I stocked forage in March at 1/3 pool and was planning on stocking predators the next spring, but the BG and FHM grew and reproduced so well, stocked LMB and CC late that fall. Pond filled normally through the year.

For what it is worth, my experience.
Posted By: Rainman Re: Stocking before full pool reached - 09/28/14 05:56 PM
interplexr, assuming you are stocking fingerlings, you can stock at your full pool rate, now, on the forage fish.

How many predators (LMB) do you intend to stock? Your overall numbers seem a bit low to me for your BG and RES.

As snrub said, your pond will grow as your fish grow.
Posted By: Cecil Baird1 Re: Stocking before full pool reached - 09/28/14 06:37 PM