Pond Boss
Posted By: CampJosh Hello from NC - 08/20/16 07:39 PM
I'm new to pond boss but have learned a lot from the archives. Great information on here. I work on and off at a summer camp with a 11 acre lake. It is fed by 2 small streams and max depth is 25ish. The lake is about 47 years old and full of big bluegill and LMB. This lake is fished in the summertime by campers but very few fish are harvested and then only the bluegill for a fish fry. Other than that there is almost no one else that fishes the lake for 9 months. The lake bottom is mostly covered with what I think is chara and this year it actually made it to the surface in one spot. The lake also has several docks and a island. The grasses have come in strong this year covering any gradually sloping bank.
As you might of have guessed the bass are overpopulated and stack up in the 10-12 in range. There are lots of those little guys. I have caught 20+ LMB an hour this summer and only 1-20 will be >12. I did catch a 5lb LMB and another 4.5 but it took me 2years of fishing this lake to get them. On the other hand fly fishing for big bluegill is fun and easy. There are lots of large bluegill. Visitors to the lake always remark on the size of the bluegill.
So my goal is to help educate the landowners to establish a more balanced fishery. Trophy bass are not the goal but it would be great to catch good numbers of 14+ in bass and have a few lurkers as well. I will follow up with some pictures and observations while I'm out fishing.
Thanks again for this great resource.
Camp Josh
Posted By: snrub Re: Hello from NC - 08/20/16 11:43 PM
Welcome to the forum CJ.

Sounds like you need to include LMB in that annual fish fry or even make it exclusive for one year.
Posted By: Bill D. Re: Hello from NC - 08/21/16 01:40 AM
Welcome to PBF CJ! Looking forward to hearing more about your project!

Bill D.
Posted By: stickem' Re: Hello from NC - 08/21/16 05:15 PM
CJ,