Pond Boss
Posted By: Theo Gallus Root Ball Question - 08/07/07 09:43 PM
Who has experience placing root balls in a basin before the pond fills? I'm curious what % of the time the dirt on the roots is sufficient weight to keep them from floating until they waterlog.
Posted By: Ric Swaim Re: Root Ball Question - 08/07/07 11:23 PM
Hey Theo,
I put prob. 20 root balls in my 2.5ac pond. I never considered they might float.
Anyway they've stayed put for going on 2 yrs now.
Posted By: dave in el dorado ca Re: Root Ball Question - 08/07/07 11:25 PM
i was just thinking you'll probably need to weight them down, but i have no real experience here. what kind of trees are/were they and will that make a difference (i.e. oak vs. poplar type woods).
Posted By: Theo Gallus Re: Root Ball Question - 08/08/07 12:37 AM
They're Ash. The trunks run roughly 12" - 14" in diameter where they were cut off just above ground; they have about 3' - 4' diameter of root area (with embedded dirt) remaining on them.

I wasn't planning on having them around, but they're being cut off the trunks upon removal and I thought, what the heck?
Posted By: MARKALLEN Re: Root Ball Question - 08/08/07 04:22 AM

Theo, I put several root balls in a new pond finished in April. The ponds been full since May and no sign of them floating.
They sound about like yours, 3 to 4' in diameter with dirt stuck to the roots, they look look like they'll be great fish structure.
Posted By: Greg Grimes Re: Root Ball Question - 08/08/07 11:42 AM
Theo if I'm a betting man and money on them not floating. The trunk, etc seems to me to be so dense even without the dirt weight they should not float. In all my years I have seen lots of trees float I thought may not but never the trunk. good luck.
Posted By: GW Re: Root Ball Question - 08/08/07 12:15 PM
We will have hundreds of stumps from trees over 12 inches in diameter from the 6 acre area. Our pond builder suggested that we create a reef-like structure with them.