Pond Boss
Posted By: george1 Pond Fly Tackle - 01/16/14 12:13 AM
Ok, now that the mods have founds us a home and Dwight has us formatted in place, lets move forward, having read Dusty’s excellent What You Always Wanted to Know About Fly Fishing, But Were Afraid to Ask - A Fly Fishing FAQ

I continue to believe it best to keep the tackle thread separate from technique so let’s all start at the beginning with tackle and learn and re-learn as beginners.
First of all, as a beginner, I would find it helpful to find a good fly combo kit, with rod, reel, fly line, and leader - a case would be handy.

Let’s have everyone’s idea of what kind of tackle you would choose for fly-fishing your pond?
Gonna fish for BG - Bass?
Bluegill only – maybe a 5 wt?
BG and Bass – how ‘bout a 6 wt?
How much money you wanna spend? (OK I know you experienced guy already have fly tackle but your ideas are important.) This stuff can be a hole in the water that you throw money in and we don’t want to go there…

OK, let’s get this beginner tackle thing moving - then I’ll tell you what beginner set I bought my grandson-in-law for his Christmas present.
Thanks,
George Glazener
Posted By: esshup Re: Fly Tackle - 01/16/14 12:24 AM
I have a hard time remembering how to tie knots. Can I use one of these instead?

Posted By: esshup Re: Fly Tackle - 01/16/14 12:29 AM
IIRC 2-3 wt for BG, 7 wt for LMB. Floating fly line. I like WF line. Real tapered leaders are nice, but I'll also tie on straight mono.

George, care to explain how to translate "X" weight (or size) tippets into something that a beginner can understand? If using a real tapered tippet, now much can you shorten it before you have to replace it?
Posted By: CMM Re: Pond Fly Tackle - 01/16/14 12:42 AM