Pond Boss
Hello, My first posting here in the Forums. I'm a new pond owner here is south central NC. My pond is probably about 75 years old, about an acre. Time and runoff has caused quite a bit of sandy silt to runoff and accumulate along the south and north side banks out to about thirty feet from shore on the south side, depth is about a foot and twenty feet out from the north side, same depth, a foot...Deepest part of the pond is about 8 feet max at center. I would like to dredge it out but honestly, I am hearing big $$, as in thousands... to bring in a private company to do so. Given the modest size of this pond, I was hoping to leverage the knowledge of the more experienced pond owners in this forum. Suggestions?
Welcome to the forum, Rick - great to hear from you!

Shallow ponds provide some management issues, huh? I'm sure you have quite a bit of vegetation dominating the 1' water for several months of the year? Not very productive water.

I am not experienced with the dredging process keeping the pond full and fishery in tact, but imagine it would be expensive. Depending on the quality of your fishery, you may want to consider draining and peforming sediment removal/pond restructuring while dry. It's much cheaper and simpler with dry clay I would imagine, and 1 acre isn't too much to drain and rework.

If you are open to draining most of the pond and working to improve depth, here's an idea of how I would approach it.

1. Check watershed for source of siltation during runoff periods. Consider building a small siltation pond which serves to slow down runoff, allows the particulates to settle, then the water moves into your main BOW with far less turbidity/silt/matter. This will slow down the siltation process for you in the future.

2. Pump the pond down to 3' in deepest area, seine fish and relocate quality fish permanently or for restocking in your BOW later. Pump it dry at that time if you want to work on depth in that portion of the pond, too.