Pond Boss
Posted By: John Wann Pond and taxes - 01/19/13 07:58 PM
Anybody know if you can write off new pond on your taxes?
Posted By: RAH Re: Pond and taxes - 01/19/13 08:11 PM
Are you a farmer?
Posted By: John Wann Re: Pond and taxes - 01/19/13 08:14 PM
No
Posted By: John Wann Re: Pond and taxes - 01/19/13 08:15 PM
Raised a couple hogs.
Posted By: RAH Re: Pond and taxes - 01/19/13 11:11 PM
There may be conservation deductions depending on your farming situation.
Posted By: rmedgar Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:14 AM
Like RAH said, there is a conservation deductions, with a few restrictions: they'll give you a tax deduction if you pledge not to develop your land (you can sell/give to a family member and they can build a house). If you sell before 10 years you have to repay the deduction that you were given.
I am not a lawyer and am just passing on what I did about 10 years ago, concerning 33A I had in GA. I took the deduction, and sold w/in 10 years and had to repay taxes...
Posted By: John Wann Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:17 AM
I wonder if the deduction would be worthwhile. Anybody know how much it is.
Posted By: Bluegillerkiller Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:24 AM
If it was worth it you'd know about it.. And so would everyone else
Posted By: John Wann Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:31 AM
Your prob right BGK.
Posted By: Bluegillerkiller Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:37 AM
Now if you had a farm or raised fish to sell or used it for irrigation you could prolly find an angle.. But me and you alike are screwed no tax break for us..
Posted By: rmedgar Re: Pond and taxes - 01/20/13 12:56 AM
In my isolated case, I think I saved about 20% per year. I didn't raise any crops or anything like that - I didn't even live there! I think the number of acres you are willing to dedicate is a factor, and it probably has to be your whole property. Again, I'm just talking about my experience...
Posted By: jeffhasapond Re: Pond and taxes - 01/21/13 05:16 PM