Pond Boss
Posted By: sprkplug Ginseng. - 11/24/12 05:19 PM
Has anyone here ever tried their hand at growing ginseng? I am just beginning on what will undoubtedly be a long, probably frustrating, very likely aggravating endeavour, ( kind of similar to pond management) and would be grateful for any pointers, or shared experiences from someone who does, or has done it before.

I realize that a lot of the country is not suitable for this plant, so perhaps a lot of members aren't as familiar with it as those of us accustomed to 'digging sang', but here are a few figures from earlier this past week....

Tuesday, Nov 20th... Price listed is per ounce.

Zinc**** $.05 ( 80 cents a pound)
Copper***$.22 ( 3.52 per pound)
Nickel*** $.46 ( 7.36 per pound)
Silver.***$33.13 ( 530.08 per pound)
Wild Ginseng***$37.50 ($600.00 per lb.)

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has wooded property surrounding their ponds that is full of hills and hollers, unsuitable for cultivation in the traditional sense, but ideal for ginseng. Seems like a waste not to have that land providing SOMETHING........
Posted By: esshup Re: Ginseng. - 11/24/12 06:16 PM
It's too sandy up here for that I'm think.

There was an article in F-F-G magazine a while back about doing just what you are proposing. Doesn't it take 3-5 years for the first crop? Like other herbs, those prices are for dried roots, aren't they and not "fresh" ones? What's a normal sized root weigh from your area?

If I saw some in the woods I doubt I'd recognize it.
Posted By: John Wann Re: Ginseng. - 11/24/12 07:04 PM
I used to dig goldenseal roots. It took a lot of work to make 1 dried pound. We would put the roots in a pillow case and tie it. Throw it in the washer to get off dirt, then drier to dry them out.
Posted By: catmandoo Re: Ginseng. - 11/24/12 07:50 PM
I don't know much about it, but it is an important crop here in VA and WV. Here is a link Virginia Ginseng.