Pond Boss
Posted By: Weissguy Had a huge Tilapia hatch yesterday - 12/08/09 11:46 PM
I've been working on a white strain of Nile Tilapia for quite a while now. I've been selecting for fast growth and white coloration. One of my breeding colonies produced about 1500 to 2000 fry in a nicely synched spawn, and they became free swimming in the egg tumblers as of yesterday. That spawn was from just 3 young females that average about 7-8 inches in length! The fry are now in a nursery aquarium. I'll try to take some pictures and post them shortly.

I've been selling quite a bit locally for the last several years just to keep from becoming overloaded with fish. By spring, I will have produced over 30,000 fry. Crazy!

Posted By: CJBS2003 Re: Had a huge Tilapia hatch yesterday - 12/09/09 03:28 AM
Can't wait to see the pics...
Posted By: ewest Re: Had a huge Tilapia hatch yesterday - 12/09/09 03:33 AM
SRAC

Reproduction

In all Oreochromis species the male

excavates a nest in the pond bottom

(generally in water shallower than 3

feet) and mates with several females.

After a short mating ritual the

female spawns in the nest (about

two to four eggs per gram of brood

female), the male fertilizes the eggs,

and she then holds and incubates the

eggs in her mouth (buccal cavity)

until they hatch. Fry remain in the

femaleÕs mouth through yolk sac

absorption and often seek refuge in

her mouth for several days after they

begin to feed.

Reproduction is best at water temperatures

higher than 80o F and does

not occur below 68o F. In subtropical

regions with a cool season, the number

of fry produced will decrease

when daily water temperature averages

less than 75o F. After 16- to 20-

day spawning cycles with 1/2-pound

Nile tilapia, fry recovery was about

600 fry per female brooder at a water

temperature of 82o F, but only 250

fry per female at 75o F.
Posted By: Weissguy Re: Had a huge Tilapia hatch yesterday - 12/09/09 09:09 AM