Pond Boss
Posted By: scott69 my tilapia?? - 07/04/09 09:32 PM
the tilapia that i stocked about five months ago have a wide range of colors. some are pearl white, others are grey, and some are grey with orange fins. is that common for them to be multi colored? also they were pretty good size when i got them. when should i expect to see the babies? will the babies be in schools? in the shallows?
Posted By: Bill Cody Re: my tilapia?? - 07/05/09 08:26 PM
What do you consider "pretty good size" - 3", 5" 7", 9"?. Where did you get your tilapia because the source may determine the color pattern. Are you sure there aren't small tilapia in the pond? Have you tried trapping or seining? I'm not experienced with talapia but I think you should provide a little more information to get some credable answers from those with tilapia experiences.
Posted By: Rainman Re: my tilapia?? - 07/06/09 12:21 AM
scott69, I don't know what kind of tilapia you stocked, but even pure strain Blues can have some variation in color. this variation becomes MUCH more pronounced due to sexual excitement, age, stress, water clarity, etc. Blue tilapia males will often get dark fin tips, lose body side colors, and develop a red/orange distal margin between the dorsal spins. If your fish appear to be more of an overall orange, then they have a large percentage of orange Mozambique in them. Orange Moz. were used by unscrupulous fish retailers selling them in place of Red Snapper since the fillets of both look virtually identical.

As Yolk said in your other post on this same subject, you will rarely see small tilapia. Once released from Momma's mouth, they go deep into forage and once too large to hide there (about 1-2 inches) 99+% are eaten by predators---that is one of the beautiful things about tilapia as a forage fish since this smorgasbord takes pressure off the normal forage species.
Posted By: scott69 Re: my tilapia?? - 07/06/09 01:26 AM