Pond Boss
Posted By: Carndog64 Need Help Please Pond Draining - 08/30/17 12:29 PM
I inherited land from my dad with a 4-5 acre pond it is draining rapidly. The outfall pipe was repaired by my dad years ago and supposedly filled with stone and concrete, it is now out of the water by 5-6 feet. there is a small standpipe in the center of the pond 15 feet from the outfall. Anyone ever seen anything like this. Pond is in New York built around 1962.
I am flying up there Friday and not sure what to do.

Attached picture pond 2.jpg
Attached picture pond.jpg
Attached picture pond1.jpg
Attached picture weird pipe in center.jpg
Posted By: djstauder Re: Need Help Please Pond Draining - 08/30/17 01:03 PM
I'm no expert but I suspect the smaller pipe is your primary drain; if the water gets high enough to get to the top, it drains through there. Then, I would guess the larger brick one is your secondary drain and that it is a little higher than your primary drain. As far as a leak, do you see any water around the edges of the pond where water may be escaping?
Posted By: liquidsquid Re: Need Help Please Pond Draining - 08/30/17 01:14 PM
I think the only easy way to find the problem is keep observing, hoping to see where the water is going. Perhaps get out there on a raft and place some dye near the suspected leak points and see what it tells you. The water appears clear enough it may help.

The pipe in the middle that showed up (it looks like it is usually under water) probably has leaked along it, or is broken. I would suspect that first.
Posted By: Sunil Re: Need Help Please Pond Draining - 08/30/17 01:39 PM
Agree with all the comments so far.

There must be clear signs of where the water is coming out of the pond.

It should drain down to the level of the leak which may enable an effective repair.

It may also be a good time to drain down the pond using a trash pump in order to do more extensive, long lasting repairs.