Pond Boss
OK, so I have a question as a total novice. I have a small pond, maybe an acre and a half. Its not been stocked except a hand full of catfish several years ago and last year three, yes three smallmouth bass that I caught in a local private pond and put in my pond. All of them maybe 9-12 inches in size. I have no idea if they lived the winter, what sex ect.

So this spring, starting yesterday we are seeing numerous small (too small to identify from 30-40 feet away) fish or polywogs or something jumping almost in unison or close to the same times. They seem sensitive to sound at times as well. If I yell it creates a bunch of them to jump at the same time.

I want to identify them as they may just be polywogs a we have a ton of frogs in this pond.

I dont think catfish will jump? But thats what has been in there the longest. I found a dead catfish last year, maybe a 1 incher. I think my lab got to it.

Any suggestions?

RUMBLON
Originally Posted By: RUMBLON
OK, so I have a question as a total novice. I have a small pond, maybe an acre and a half. Its not been stocked except a hand full of catfish several years ago and last year three, yes three smallmouth bass that I caught in a local private pond and put in my pond. All of them maybe 9-12 inches in size. I have no idea if they lived the winter, what sex ect.

So this spring, starting yesterday we are seeing numerous small (too small to identify from 30-40 feet away) fish or polywogs or something jumping almost in unison or close to the same times. They seem sensitive to sound at times as well. If I yell it creates a bunch of them to jump at the same time.

I want to identify them as they may just be polywogs a we have a ton of frogs in this pond.

I dont think catfish will jump? But thats what has been in there the longest. I found a dead catfish last year, maybe a 1 incher. I think my lab got to it.

Any suggestions?

RUMBLON