Pond Boss
Posted By: mnfish Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 04:37 PM
I have a Fyke net on order and am looking forward to setting it out. I have zero experience and would love to get any tips that would cut my learning curve. The net is a modified 2x4, 1/2 mesh with a 20' lead.

How do you deal with snaping turtles? Do muskrats get trapped, if so how do I deal with them?

Thanks
Posted By: CJBS2003 Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 06:14 PM
Usually you find the turtles and rats dead in the trap. Easily dealt with that way... Find a natural transition area to set the trap up next to. That should help up your catch. Is there a certain species you are specifically targeting?
Posted By: mnfish Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 06:54 PM
Thanks for the response CJ. I've read all your posts about using these these nets. Some of them twice. I am targeting the most hated BH along with BG, BCP. My ponds are small at 1 acre and 1/4 acre with irregular contours and average depths of 4.5'.

I hoping this will method will allow me to control the numbers of fish in these ponds. The "trash" fish like BH will always be in my pond or find away in. Just looking for away to deal with them.

Suggestions?
Posted By: MRHELLO Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 08:21 PM
Where did you order your net from?
Posted By: mnfish Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 08:37 PM
The one that essup had mentioned. Nicholsnetandtwine.com
Posted By: esshup Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 10:35 PM
Out of the snappers and sliders that I've caught in the net during the past year, only 1 snapper and 1 slider were dead. Having 5 snappers all around 20+ pounds in the trap at the same time alive along with all the fish sure made things interesting!
Posted By: Bluegillerkiller Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/15/12 11:29 PM
Of you fully submerge the net everything but fish will die..
Posted By: mnfish Re: Fyke Net Usage Tips - 08/16/12 12:21 AM
essup- how did you do it? that sounds like a great story!