Pond Boss
Posted By: Bossone Central Illinois - New pond w/Pics! - 06/23/10 02:41 AM
Newbie here that is strongly considering building an 1/2 acre pond in Central Illinois. We have a natural spot to place a pond centered along an existing ditch that has some small springs leaking along the sides (approx 6ft below ground level). We dug a test hole and did find some gravel but that didn't seem to bother the gentleman that dug the test hole.

Add to this we have what I call yellow clay, so I'm concerned about all the comments about springs causing leaking issues. My pond builder sees no issues, but I am concerned.

Also is there any guidelines as to what it costs to build a pond of this size? He is offering to do it for under 10k.

I apologize if this is in the wrong area.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Hey Boss. Welcome. Not sure about the gravel or springs except that the lower the springs are the more chance of the water pressure from the pond stopping or even reversing them. My guy told me springs are great at water level but other than that you don't want to hit them.As far as cost I'm also in Illinois (south central) I had about a one acre pond built for around 8000 that was also taking out some trees before they started. It was 100 an hour and he had two pieces of machinery running the whole time. So it was 200 an hour. Not sure if that helps but I'm sure you'll get some better advice than what i can give.
hey guys, good to see more Illinoisans joining up. Welcome to the forum, Bossone. I'm sure one of the pro's will be along shortly to get you answers to your questions.

Where are you guys at? I'm about 20 mins northeast of ST. Louis.

Thanks
-Skinny
Ramsey Illinois here.
I live in the godfrey/grafton/alton area.
Mailing address is alton, water comes from alton, pay taxes to grafton, although survey says godfrey, godfrey trash & sewer service.