Pond Boss
Posted By: jamesyarbrough water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 01:13 AM
Hello all. Im having an issue with a well. Its about 30 years old and is at a depth of 1100 feet. Today while watering I noticed the water pressure dropped down and then when it came back up there was a bunch of muddy water. Soon after that the water pressure dwindled to nothing. I went into the well house to look around and noticed the pump control box was smoking. I opened the box and found the start capacitor was extremely hot but tested to the manufacturer spec of 70 mfd.

Any advice would be helpful, as I know nothing about wells.

Thank you
Posted By: jamesyarbrough Re: water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 01:14 AM
I should add that this well has never went dry before and we have had quite a bit of rain this year.
Posted By: Dave Davidson1 Re: water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 02:00 AM
James, I'm not an expert but you might need to deepen your well.

Rain won't make it down to 1100 ft.
Posted By: Cecil Baird1 Re: water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 02:07 AM
Holy moly 1100 feet?! Mine up here in Indiana is only 80 feet deep and the well pump sits at 40 feet.
Posted By: esshup Re: water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 03:48 AM
I'd call a well guy. You might have to pull the pump and inspect it. Hopefully the well screen is still good.......
Posted By: Rainman Re: water well acting up. need advice - 09/27/14 07:31 AM
Controller was smoking? Sounds like the pump motor locked up. If you had suddenly muddy water, you could have also had a minor collapse.

My deepest well was 468", another was 280'. Both placed the deep well pump at 5' above the bottom of the well.

Like esshup suggested, probably time for the well driller to visit. Pulling a deep pump is not a lot of fun, and if you have never done it, an 1100' deep well is not a great place to drop things into!