Pond Boss
Posted By: Buffer Would a windmill help? - 01/27/11 06:27 PM
I have a 5 acre 37'deep pond (oval shaped, shallow at both ends, steep shoreline at sides)that I stocked with 75-2" to 4" LMB a few years ago. They survived through that winter and were 10" by the next July. Put in 50 more but never saw them again.(winter kill?).Close to sustaining LMB? Would a windmill aeration system help? If so, how deep should the diffuser go? My property has no electricity and is in the Bancroft area of Ontario, Canada. Lots of ice and snow. Any suggestions welcome.
Posted By: Todd3138 Re: Would a windmill help? - 01/27/11 06:32 PM
Hey, Buffer, welcome to Pond Boss! Glad you found us and posted.

I'm not an aeration expert by any means, but from reading here, it seems a windmill powered aerator entails a lot of different considerations. The biggest factor is how exposed your pond is to wind such that the windmill would function. There have been a lot of mixed views on windmill aerators, so you'll probably get a lot of different feedback on this question.

Given your depths and the size of the pond, it seems winterkill would be a bit less likely to occur, but in Canada you certainly can have some long, cold winters. Tell us about the length of your ice season, how often the ice is snow covered, and what sort of vegetation you have in the pond. In the end, aeration may or may not be a big factor for you, though I don't think anyone would disagree that properly managed aeration will generally do nothing but improve water quality.

Again, welcome! Sit tight for some more meaningful input!
Posted By: Sue Cruz Re: Would a windmill help? - 01/27/11 07:34 PM
Hi Buffer ~