Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
1 members (Fishingadventure), 883 guests, and 173 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
DLJacob Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I'm new in this management stuff and ponds. I'm looking at providing forage fish in the Bluegill variety or another feeder fish. How much does a 12" to 15" LMB eat? If I stock 75 to 100 BG in a half acre pond with three of the aforementioned LMB, how long will they last? Will the BG, 3.5" to 4.5" in size, get a foothold in the pond before they become lunch? My additional inventory of fish are lots of smaller 4" to 8" LMB plus at least a dozen 12" to 15" catfish. If the LMB are going to eat all of the BG in the first day, week or month, would I be advised to also stock 100 or so feeder gold fish so that the BG might live long enough to produce their own fry? I hate the thought of feeding the LMB $400 in BG when I can feed them $30 in gold fish instead. How does this forage system work and how much do LMB eat. The last time I saw one of the big (in my pond) LMB catch something, it was a three inch goldfish. After gulping it down, the LMB continued to look for another meal. I know what it is like to have a Sushi habit, but even I don't eat $400 a month worth of fish. I certainly do not want to feed my LMB that much in BG a month. What do you recommend?

Hall of Fame
Lunker
Hall of Fame
Lunker