Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Shotgun01, Dan H, Stipker, LunkerHunt23, Jeanjules
18,451 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,902
Posts557,116
Members18,452
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,420
ewest 21,475
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,112
Who's Online Now
1 members (anthropic), 750 guests, and 227 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
C
OP Offline
C
Construction starts next month on my bass/bream pond which is going to be 1 1/2 acres.
I'm looking at putting in vegetation for the fish to help with oxygen an survival of fingerlings. My question is will I cause problems if I select plants that are also attractive to ducks? I know ducks can bring in unwanted weeds. The pond will have 3 diffusers.

D
D
I am no plant expert but ducks did bring in Sago pond weed to our pond. If you build the pond the ducks will find it. I have seen ducks that I didn't even know were around our parts show up.

Cheers Don.

[Linked Image from corvettejunkie.com]
http://www.pondboss.com/subscribe.asp?c=4

7/8th of an acre, Perch only pond, Ontario, Canada.
C
OP Offline
C
Don, thanks for your info. Have you been able to manage the Sago pond weed?

B
B
If you have deep water right near shore perhaps ducks are welcome?

But while they look nice and bring an element of natural beauty they also bring disease, predators, poop, and potentially weeds.

As soon as we see trespassers it's odd but a bottle rocket or roman candle seem to go off and when the smoke clears the trespassers are gone.

PS if you have a dock the ducks and geese WILL poop on it. Sure as the sun rises there will be poop on your dock. So if you've kids, grandkids, etc., you've got that issue.

L
L
Check out Kester's Wild Game Food Nurseries as a source for information and plants. http://www.kestersnursery.com/Wetland%20Plant%27s.htm