Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,946
Posts557,793
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,510
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
9 members (esshup, ArkieJig, Boondoggle, canyoncreek, Augie, catscratch, FishinRod, FireIsHot, Theeck), 974 guests, and 269 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#298129 07/04/12 11:10 AM
G
OP Offline
G
Hello everyone at Pond Boss! I'm a pond rookie and this seems like the holy grail of pond experts and info!

I live in MN and dug a 1/4 acre pond over the winter that borders a type #2 wetland, the base is all sand and the pond naturally filled and is about 10' deep. I've got FHM's breeding in there like gang busters and I'm waiting on a permit to stock it with HBG's. The surface water around here is super rusty and my pond probably only has 8" of clarity due to the rust. I'm aerating with a 7CFM pump (way overkill I'm told), but it circulates the water nicely!

Within the last couple weeks it has begun to develop a brown surface film and I'm trying to figure out what it is. From what I've read brown algae doesn't fair well in full sun, and it is some type of paper thin coating. Everyone that come over can't believe I would let my kids swim in there, but I can't find any good reasons not to let them swim out there. People seem to have some very odd misconceptions about ponds around here.. But have no problem swimming in larger lakes.. I don't quite understand it? I don't have any waterfowl or animals using the pond, and the water quality appears to be quite good.