Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,788
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 778 guests, and 246 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#62247 12/31/05 10:11 AM
P
OP Offline
P
Hello everyone! \:\) I am new to pondboss. I have already built my pond and now I need to add some structure. I have read untill my eyes are tired before posting and a few things i have not found. There was talk of getting your clay/soil tested to see if it needed lime. I wondered where to send or take a test in central Texas? I have built a 1+ acre pond with some deep water (13.5') because I expect a lot of variation in the water level. I have had this place for two years and have had 3 runs on the creek that would have filled the pond and 2 smaller runs. On one of the smaller runs i had some high grass at a low water crossing that trapped dozens of native perch, a couple of large shad, and some bullhead. My question: Is there any way to put a gate above my pond to trap these fish? It would need to be 40' X 6' and would it keep out even the fry? It really comes a hard run on a 3"+ rain. If the answer is no, could I stock fish large enough to keep these trash fish under control? Any advice for control of my pond would be appreciated.

Please no more rain for a month! :|
B
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
Ambassador
Field Correspondent
Lunker
B