Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
araudy, Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985
18,501 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,962
Posts557,962
Members18,501
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,499
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,148
Who's Online Now
7 members (FishinRod, Fishingadventure, 4CornersPuddle, Bigtrh24, Boondoggle, Bill Cody, Ponderific2024), 1,109 guests, and 322 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
D
DLJacob Offline OP
OP Offline
D
This is going to be a long post - so apologies up front.

I'm very new to pond "management" and I need a lot of help. I've been participating and reading tons of posts on this wonderful forum, but somewhere along the line I got lost. I bought this property in late 2009 and it came with a small shallow pond. In it where LMB and some type of catfish and another fish that I can't identify (they almost look like large Oscar tropical fish). The goal of the pond is beautiful landscaping and healthy, clean and clear water that doesn't stink to high heaven. My Golden Retriever uses the pond as a drinking fountain and to stroll through the water anytime she wants - not that I had a choice. The property is in Northern Nevada, east of the Sierra's and over the hill from Lake Tahoe. The pond is fed by artesian spring and artesian well overflow. I'm not a fisherman, but expect to have nieces and nephews to show up to go fishing and fishing for fun and entertainment. I'm not looking to have "trophy" bass as a priority. I may want to add Koi and/or large Gold fish to the pond when or if their size is appropriate to not be a snack for the LMB. The largest LMB I've seen are three 12 to 15 inch fish, though they were pretty skinny. There are hundreds of smaller LMB. I've inquired about getting Blue Gill as forage fish, but so far