Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
Ponderific2024, MOLINER, BackyardKoi, Lumberman1985, Bennettrand
18,500 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,961
Posts557,951
Members18,500
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,534
ewest 21,497
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,146
Who's Online Now
1 members (Bobbss), 857 guests, and 152 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#180422 08/25/09 04:16 PM
K
Kit Offline OP
Fingerling
OP Offline
Fingerling
K
Hi there~ I'm not good with these types of sites, but Nate from Herman Brothers Pond Mgt recommended I ask you guys my questions.

First, I live on a small lake (112 acres, about a 3+ miles perimeter, max 25 ft depth) in northwest NJ. It is considered very clean, the fish love it (it's stocked with bass & trout), etc. Those of us who still draw water from the lake (something NJ is trying to make illegal with future house sales) treat it to make it potable. We treat our water w/UV lights to kill living organisms, filter it w/5 micron charcoal filters, etc. We don't drink the water, but we do use it to brush our teeth, wash dishes & veggies, shower, and the like.

Alas, a few years ago some visiting fisher introduced Lyngbya to our lake (a non-native, invasive algae). We also have other plants that interfere w/swimming, fishing, such as pondweed, etc. Our lake association hires a water mgt company to treat the water when we have major blooms which - because the lake is so clear and clean - are frequent when the weather is sunny. Recently, our "Environmental Committee" (made up of volunteers) changed vendors and we have a new company doing the treatments this summer.