Pond Boss Magazine
https://www.pondboss.com/images/userfiles/image/20130301193901_6_150by50orangewhyshouldsubscribejpeg.jpg
Advertisment
Newest Members
MidwestCass, Bucyrus22B, Steve Clubb, macman59, jm96
18,483 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics40,944
Posts557,788
Members18,483
Most Online3,612
Jan 10th, 2023
Top Posters
esshup 28,508
ewest 21,490
Cecil Baird1 20,043
Bill Cody 15,141
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 778 guests, and 246 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
O
OP Offline
O
Looking for some help here. I'm new to ponds in general. We purchased our home in April of 2017. We have (I'm guessing) approximately a 1/2 acre pond. There is currently no aeration and the water has not had any kind of treatment whatsoever. I'd say it's in pretty rough shape. All of my reading tells me that the best thing I can do is install an aerator. Problem is, I have no power to this area of my lot. What I do have, however, is a water line that runs from the pond to the basement in the house. This is how they used to get their water. No worries, I've since had city water run so we are good there. I'm thinking I should be able to use that existing 1" PVC line as an aerator line. This way I could use the power that already exists in the basement, and I wouldn't need to protect a pump from the elements. I'm looking for recommendations on how to accomplish this. Any reason to NOT do it this way? Seems it would save me a lot of trenching and $$ running power back to the pond. Thanks in advance for the help!

Hi there, welcome to PBF!

What is the specific problem you're trying to solve with aeration?

Welcome to PBF!

Lots of folks use poly pipe and locate the compressor remotely from the pond. Some guys have run more than 1000 feet. Is your pipe PVC or the black poly?

Again welcome!

Bill D.

[Linked Image]
Be Brave Enough to Suck at Something New!
D
D