Originally Posted By: gbin
Originally Posted By: esshup
Here's a case study on what under aerating a pond will do...

There's certainly a cautionary tale being told there, esshup, but as a scientist I must say that it's difficult to discern exactly what it is. Too little information about the before situation, and too many parts moving all at once preceding the after situation. I'll think more on it, though.

That and your follow-up post about balancing the air output between the diffusers brought up a few more questions, if you don't mind:

1) How is it decided whether one should use a single or more diffusers at a single spot? I've commonly seen singles and doubles, and sometimes quadruples, offered with no explanation of when to choose which, and in a photo in that case study I can see where they even used a quintuple!

It all depends upon the amount of water volume needed to be moved. Since weighted airline isn't inexpensive, the less runs that you can make to achieve proper aeration, the less costly the system will be.

2) How does one balance the air output between diffusers when there is more air being produced by the compressor than all of the diffusers hooked up to it can properly handle? For example, say I use the same compressor for three diffusers during the summer and only one diffuser during the winter, or start out by trying only one diffuser during the summer with the idea that I can add more in subsequent years if doing so seems justified. How do I keep diffusers from being overwhelmed? Is the excess air simply bled off at the compressor somehow?