A few basic points:

CAW25: I am not an amateur who comes on here to learn the basics, and then decides to throw around advice. If you take me as that, you are very mistaken. I currently manage several ponds professionally, and I have ten years of experience doing so, so my knowledge is not theory, it's firsthand, proven experience. I don't recommend anything unless I know it works. If you have experience managing ponds professionally that eclipses mine, by all means continue discounting my scientifically-proven, widely-accepted and recommended advice.

Regarding the pretty silly idea that game and fish agencies assume pond owners are not going to take an active role in managing their ponds: maybe your state DNR is that haphazard, but mine certainly isn't. All of TWRA's recommendations - which were one of my first sources of information on managing ponds - are based on pond owners who take a very active, sustained role in the management of their ponds, in everything from pH to fertility to pond construction to regular harvesting. I would go way out on a limb here and suggest that there are many other state game and fish agencies in addition to TN's that are actually staffed by degreed fisheries biologists who have a great deal of both academic and real-world, field experience behind their recommendations, and further that they make said recommendations not as a shoddy compromise from the ideal pond, but rather in an earnest - and very informed - effort to help pond owners achieve the best fishing possible in their ponds. Furthermore, I stated not only that I had never heard a state agency make the recommendation to wait a year from the time of stocking bluegill to the time of stocking bass, but I've never heard a fisheries biologist or professional pond manager make that recommendation either, and so far, since I posted, none on this forum have spoken up and said they would recommend it. That should tell you something.