Originally Posted By: pondsea
Surely there is a CPA among us who can explain this a lot better than I did.

I am a CPA and I shall attempt to clarify this somewhat, but don't call me Shirly.

The election to expense property in one year is called a section 179 election. As you pointed out Pondsea, effective January 1, 2008 as business can elect to expense up to $250,000 in qualifying fixed asset purchases in one year provided that other criteria is met (the equipment must be used in a trade or business, the 179 deduction cannot be used to create or increase a net loss, there is a limitation on the total investment in one year, the equipment can't be purchased on ground hog day) [ok I made that part up]. In order to qualify for the section 179 election the equipment DOES NOT have to be new.

Originally Posted By: pondsea
I probably muddied it all up, but here is an example: If you bought a new tractor for your business for $25,000, assuming a 35% tax bracket, the effective cost of the new tractor is $16,250. So you can see why a used tractor price would have to adjust this year to reflect that difference. In other words, why would I buy your used one for 15K if I could buy a new one for 16K?

You got half of the answer. Assuming that all the qualifications are met and that you can use the Section 179 deduction on either new or used equipment. So, using your suggested tax bracket, the $15,000 used equipment would have an effective cost of $9,750.

Additionally I wouldn't suggest using a 35% tax bracket since for 2008 this bracket doesn't begin until you reach taxable income of $357,701. Most people will fall into either the 25% or 28% bracket.