Pond Boss
Posted By: NRAInstructor New to the forum - 05/28/13 01:05 AM
Hi, everyone. I've been looking at this site off and on for a few weeks and found tons of good information.

I have a pond I've been trying to evaluate and hopefully can improve. I was hoping to start a thread on here with pictures, fishing results, and of course questions.

The two biggest problems so far are coontail, and too many small bluegill.
Posted By: CMM Re: New to the forum - 05/28/13 01:09 AM
Welcome! You have come to the right place for help with achieving your goals. I am not an expert on anything, but the smart people will be right over with all the questions for you smile

CMM
Posted By: NRAInstructor Re: New to the forum - 05/31/13 08:13 PM
Thanks for the welcome. The aquashade seems to be working okay on the coontails (atleast compared to previous years) and I think I'm going to go with adding more LMB to thin out the bluegill population. Hopefully I'll get some time to come up with questions and take some pictures soon!
Posted By: Bocomo Re: New to the forum - 05/31/13 08:46 PM
How about some pictures? We love photos.

How old is the pond? Consider doing a simple fishing survey. Record the species, length and weight of the fish you catch over a few fishing sessions and it will really help you figure out what you need to do with fish management. If the pond hasn't been harvested at all, from what I've read I don't think adding LMB will be the right answer.
Posted By: Lovnlivin Re: New to the forum - 05/31/13 08:59 PM
Welcome, Instructor!

I'm not an expert either but I'll chime in on what will be helpful in getting some answers to many of your pond/fishery questions. Just to name a few, so don't hold back on giving these folks as much info as possible:

*Size of pond
*Age of pond
*Depth of pond
*Your pond and fishery goals

Otherwise there's one answer to fit nearly all questions;

"It depends"

Keith
Posted By: NRAInstructor Re: New to the forum - 06/01/13 12:40 AM