Pond Boss
Posted By: The Griff Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/10/15 02:17 AM
I have a new half acre pond which I plan to stock soon. I would like to make my pond as productive as possible not only with regard to fish. I was thinking about getting some muscovy ducks. Are there any consequences, negative or otherwise, to adding ducks to a 1/2 acre fish pond?
Posted By: edit7279 Re: Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/10/15 02:42 AM
I'm no duck expert, but from what I've read, I personally hope none show up on my pond. They will eat fish, as well as vegetation.

Check out this discussion:
http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/733559/considering-a-duck-pond-keepers-please-respond
Posted By: RAH Re: Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/10/15 01:39 PM
Ducks will cause water cloudiness problems and add fertilizer for algae. I encourage wild ducks and thought about getting some domestic ones, but decided the drawbacks outweighed the advantages. I enjoy the migrating ducks and the occasional pair that sets up shop in our ponds and wetlands. I even leave the pair of geese that nests on our little island alone. The male keeps the rest of the geese away.
Posted By: readonly Re: Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/10/15 02:06 PM
Not sure about ducks, but geese sure to help keep cattail infestations to a minimum.
Posted By: scatterlandsfarm Re: Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/10/15 05:51 PM
Originally Posted By: The Griff
I have a new half acre pond which I plan to stock soon. I would like to make my pond as productive as possible not only with regard to fish. I was thinking about getting some muscovy ducks. Are there any consequences, negative or otherwise, to adding ducks to a 1/2 acre fish pond?
By all means dont ,,,,,,,,,,the mess isnt worth it ,we had several and was tickled when the coyotes finaaly got them all
Posted By: The Griff Re: Ducks on a Fish Pond? - 05/11/15 01:31 AM