Pond Boss
There is a public pond I have been fishing since 2004 (since it became public) and it's about 2-3 acres. I don't think it's real deep either.

Anyway it seems to be chock full of weeds.

Do too many weeds prevent bass from adequately preying on sunfish?

The fish population in this pond seems to be largemouth/redear/warmouth/bluegill with no big specimens

Biggest fish seen is a 14 inch largemouth

Thanks
Yes that's a definite possiblity although there are exceptions. Pelican Lake in Nebraska is like that yet it still produces big, big bluegills. I understand it's so weed choked in the summer it's difficult to fish.

Dr. Willis could fill us in more on this subject as could others.
Absolutely. I helped Clint of Overton Fisheries with an electrofishing survey last year and the lake that we sampled was the same way.

Coontail covered most of the lake and all of the bass were underweight even though we caught bluegill of all sizes.
There could be bigger fish in the pond but I have never seen them.
About 20% "cover" is just about right. A choked up mess can mean too much YOY survival of both predator and prey species. What kind of vegetation is it?

Here's the deal. Plants generate oxygen during the day. They absorb it during the night. If you get a couple of still, overcast, days they don't generate as much. However, they do absorb it when the sun isn't shining. It's something like inhaling and exhaling. If they inhale too much of it without producing enough, you get a shortage of dissolved oxygen, often accompanied by a fish kill. Also, a heavy mat of weeds keeps sunlight from penetrating. Our Buddy Ray(sunlight) is the giver of life.
Gambusia -- a couple of thoughts. First, what is chock full? If the pond is mostly covered, yes it certainly can be the problem. My other thougtht was "public water." Are the bass protected by a length limit or some other regulation? In small public waters, it's easy to overharvest the predators (tragedy of the commons).