Pond Boss
Posted By: scott69 plant ID help - 08/10/16 03:04 AM
what is this? how do i kill it? and how bad is it to have in the pond? it is very bright green when removed from the water. it is kinda dirty and brown in the water from sediment.
Posted By: teehjaeh57 Re: plant ID help - 08/10/16 04:35 AM
I'm no expert, but sure looks like chara to me. Crush some in your hand, if it smells like garlic or something otherwise very strong, it's likely chara. If it is, chara is a complex algae which is far more beneficial in my opinion to other types of algae [dense phytoplankton blooms, filamentous algae, blue green algae]. I know it can get dense, but remember it's tying up a significant portion of nutrients in your pond, and eradicating it will allow something else to take it's place. That "something" which takes it's place could serve as a problem down the line if it's coontail, hydrilla, filamentous algae, dense phytoplankton blooms, etc.

I suggest treating in areas you desire clearance and leave the rest. Copper sulphate is often an algaecide recommended by experts here - or you can just rake it out. Bear in mind it may spread when stems/leaves break off, float away and and colonize, so if you do rake it, understand it's not a permanent fix like an algaecide would provide.

Consider strongly against eradicating it - the devil you know is often far more manageable then the one you don't. I'd take chara over other algae and many plant species any day.

FYI - my 3 grass carp did manage my chara pretty well in a .2 acre pond - it was the only forage source available to them. Also, my crayfish denuded a pond thick of chara in one season - so those are two organic solutions available to you as well.
Posted By: scott69 Re: plant ID help - 08/11/16 01:39 AM