Pond Boss
Posted By: VA pond owner plant ID help - 08/30/09 03:48 PM
I've had a new plant pop up in my pond within the last two to three weeks. It is distributed in seemingly random locations around the edges of the pond. The first bloom that I noticed started in water approximately 2 feet deep and has now grown to the top of the water.

I've searched the forum to try and identify it myself but I'm unsure about a match. I want to be sure that I have the correct ID before I do something that I regret later.

Three questions: What is it and is it a problem plant?; and, Should I try to physically remove the plants? It's not all that widespread at the moment but I've noticed that it breaks apart easily and floats so I don't what to do anything that could spread it without more info, particularly if it is a problem plant.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Posted By: Ric Swaim Re: plant ID help - 08/30/09 08:08 PM
I'm not good at submerged plant ID, but if it has moved in & grown as fast as you say, imo that's telling you something. It's invasive.
It looks similar to what I have ie: Widgeon Grass.
Posted By: CJBS2003 Re: plant ID help - 08/31/09 01:54 AM
Can you remove it completely from the water and take a photo of it on a light colored background?
Posted By: VA pond owner Re: plant ID help - 08/31/09 05:38 PM
Doesn't photograph well out of water as it collapses upon itself. Hope this helps.

Posted By: Brian S. Re: plant ID help - 09/01/09 01:31 AM
Looks very similar to what I had in my pond this summer. Either the widgeon grass mentioned or sago pondweed I believe. I had it around nearly 75% of my 1/2 acre pond and spread 40 lb of Hydrothol and within 1 week it was pretty well gone. It will spread fairly quickly. I tried pulling it out but it just seemed to make it spread faster. I know you can buy a weed cutter to trim it off, but I decided to kill it. We'll see if it comes back next year.